Beginners Guitar 101

Getting my mom’s old Fender Classical Guitar out of the dusty case this week reminded me of my first guitar-playing days…

I taught myself how to strum two or three basic chords on a nylon-stringed mammoth of a guitar – my poor fingers! After enrolling me in lessons for a few months, my parents decided I was serious enough about learning guitar and they bought me a brand new acoustic guitar.

 

Getting that first guitar yourself, or as a gift for someone, can be a daunting task. I’ve provided a list here of some great beginners guitar models that you can purchase online or at a local music store: Dunkley’s Music and Gig’s Music are both great local places to get that first guitar.

Fender’s Beginner Acoustic Guitar Pack

Yamaha Acoustic Junior Size Guitar with Gig Bag

Fender Beginner’s Electric Guitar Pack

If you can, stick to tried and true brands: Fender, Yamaha, Gibson, Epiphone, Martin, Taylor, and Ibanez are brands that usually deliver a well-made instrument. Brands to stay away from: First Act, Washburn, Spectrum, Encore. If it looks cheap, it probably is – which means if you’re really interested in playing you’ll be back out looking for a new one in no time at all.

If you have any questions about which guitar to get, feel free to call me at 208.412.5740.

 

About therhythmfactory

Creating quality guitarists since 2010! The Rhythm Factory is your first and most important step in becoming an accomplished guitarist! But more than just providing top-notch guitar instruction, we are seeking to create a community of guitarists who can collaborate and work together in order to foster creativity and diversity in the Boise music scene. Let's start something amazing! View all posts by therhythmfactory

Leave a Reply

